Staff Awards

Staff Awards

Welcome to the Staff Awards website, where we recognise and celebrate the achievements of our faculty and staff. If you wish to share any prizes or awards received, new appointments or memberships in prestigious boards or societies, and other notable achievements in the last six months, we would love to hear from you.

02 October 2019

Prof Artur Ekert named among ‘Citation Laureates 2019’

Professor Artur Ekert, Director of the Centre for Quantum Technologies at NUS and Lee Kong Chian Centennial Professor at the University, has been honoured as a “Citation Laureate” by the Web of Science Group. A leading quantum cryptography pioneer, Prof Ekert is one of only 19 top scientists worldwide on the 2019 list that celebrates individuals whose publications have been cited at high frequency – typically ranking in the top 0.1 per cent by citations. The selected researchers, whose contributions to science have been transformative, even revolutionary, were chosen based on citations of their work, receipt of prizes and other factors that make them “Nobel Class”.

Read more
Assoc Prof Chua (far left) and his industry partners in front of their award-winning cooling system
01 October 2019

Cooling system inventors win ASEAN Engineering Award

Associate Professor Chua Kian Jon, Ernest from NUS Department of Mechanical Engineering and his industry collaborator Ecoline Solar Pte Ltd have received the Prestigious ASEAN Outstanding Engineering Achievement Awards 2019 for their innovative hybrid solar-thermal air conditioner, an unconventional electrical compression machine that uses heat from the sun and ambient surrounding to ease the electrical load of the energy-guzzling compressor. The prize presented at the 37th Conference of ASEAN Federation of Engineering Organizations followed another win – the Prestigious IES Engineering Achievement Award 2019 at the World Engineers Summit 2019 held recently in Singapore.

Read more
30 September 2019

Winner of inaugural computational linguistics service award

Associate Professor Kan Min Yen from the Department of Computer Science at NUS School of Computing has been conferred the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) Distinguished Service Award. The inaugural award, which was given out at the 57th ACL Annual Meeting in Florence, Italy, recognises an individual for his extraordinary service to the computational linguistics community. Assoc Prof Kan was selected for his dedicated work as Editor of the ACL Anthology — the largest archive of published research in computational linguistics and natural language processing.

Read more
Dr Tay (second from right) receiving the Young Green Building Advocate Award
23 September 2019

Young Green Building Advocate

Dr Stephen Tay, Senior Lecturer from the Department of Building at NUS School of Design and Environment, has won the Young Green Building Advocate Award under the SGBC-BCA Sustainability Leadership Awards 2019.

Jointly launched by Building and Construction Authority (BCA) and the Singapore Green Building Council (SGBC), the SGBC-BCA Sustainability Leadership Awards recognise outstanding industry practitioners and professionals for their consistent contribution and significant achievements in the development of a green and sustainable built environment.

Dr Tay, who is also Adjunct Researcher at  the Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore at NUS, is a working group member on Energy Resources by the Singapore Standardisation Programme. He assists the Singapore Standard for Renewable Energy Certification and is active in outreach activities advocating the deployment of solar photovoltaics.

Read more
Mr Pillay was awarded the highest civilian honour — the Order of Temasek (with Distinction)
15 August 2019

Honoured for service to the nation

Mr J Y Pillay, former Chairman of the Council of Presidential Advisers (CPA) and Rector of the NUS College of Peter & Alice Tan, topped the National Day Awards this year, receiving the highest honour for civilians — the Order of Temasek (with Distinction). NUS Honorary Doctor of Letters Dr Gerard Ee Hock Kim, Chairman of the Charity Council and Agency for Integrated Care, was honoured with a Distinguished Service Order.

Read more
02 August 2019

Prof Dario Campana’s immunotherapy research wins Gabbay Award

Professor Dario Campana from the Department of Paediatrics at NUS Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine has received the prestigious Gabbay Award for his groundbreaking CAR-T cell immunotherapy research. The international Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine recognises scientists in academia, medicine or industry whose work contributes to outstanding scientific content and significant practical consequences in the biomedical sciences.

Read more