Bank of Singapore CEO Mr Bahren Shaari appointed to NUS Board of Trustees

The National University of Singapore (NUS) has appointed Mr Bahren Shaari to its Board of Trustees with effect from 1 June 2021.

Mr Bahren Shaari is Chief Executive Officer of the Bank of Singapore. He has over 30 years of banking experience and was conferred the Singapore Institute of Banking and Finance Distinguished Fellow award in 2016, in recognition of his outstanding leadership and significant contributions to the financial industry. An NUS alumnus, Mr Bahren is also a member of the Council of Presidential Advisers.

Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of the NUS Board, said, "We warmly welcome Bahren to the NUS Board of Trustees. Our Board members bring to the University a wealth of experience and knowledge in diverse sectors. We look forward to the contributions that Bahren will make to the University.”

With Mr Bahren’s appointment, the NUS Board of Trustees will have 21 members.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for Education. The Board is made up of eminent leaders from the public sector, academia, business and various professions. The Board works closely with the management and stakeholders of the University to shape its vision, chart major directions, and guide significant initiatives to produce a strong and enduring impact for the University, and for Singapore and beyond.

More information on Mr Bahren Shaari can be found in Annex 1. The full list of Trustees can be found in Annex 2.