MAS Term Professorship programme extended

From left: LKY School Dean Prof Danny Quah, NUS Vice-Provost (Academic Personnel) Prof Phoon Kok Kwang, MAS Deputy Managing Director (Economic Policy) and Chief Economist Mr Edward Robinson and MAS Executive Director, Economic Analysis Department Dr Choy Keen Meng at the signing ceremony

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) will extend its financial sponsorship of the MAS Term Professorship in Economics and Finance at NUS for another five years. With this renewal, scholars appointed under the programme may be hosted at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (LKY School) at NUS in addition to NUS Economics and NUS Business.

First established in 2009, the programme appoints distinguished scholars as Visiting Professors at NUS, with the aim of strengthening Singapore’s financial and economic research infrastructure and fostering a vibrant research community in the University. The LKY School’s focus on and expertise in policy-related issues will complement the objectives of the MAS Term Professorship programme.

NUS Senior Deputy President and Provost Professor Ho Teck Hwa said that the University is grateful for MAS’ continued support for the programme and for the reaffirmation of its successful partnership with NUS. “Over the last decade, the MAS Term Professorship has provided valuable opportunities for academics, industry practitioners and policymakers to engage with top international scholars, enhancing the University’s strong research standing, and Singapore’s reputation as an international financial hub. The programme has spurred notable collaborative activities at the NUS Business and the NUS Economics, and has greatly benefitted both faculty members and students. The timely inclusion of a public policy dimension to the programme will enable scholars and practitioners to better address the complex economic and financial challenges confronting Singapore and the region today,” he added.

To date, the MAS Term Professorship in Economics and Finance has been awarded to 19 distinguished scholars, including a Nobel Laureate.

See press release.