National Day Awards 2018

Former NUS Chancellor and President of Singapore, Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam and former Chairman of NUS Board of Trustees, Mr Wong Ngit Liong were awarded The Order of Temasek (First Class) and The Distinguished Service Order respectively at the 2018 National Day Awards.

Members of the NUS community were also among the 4,624 individuals who received the National Day awards in recognition of their contributions to public service: Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, NUS Board of Trustees Chairman was awarded the Meritorious Service Medal. Prof Kua Ee Heok from the Dept of Psychological Medicine was presented with the Public Service Star.

The Public Administration Medal (Silver) was awarded to Dr Lily Chan, CEO of NUS Enterprise; Prof Bernard Yeung Yin, Dean of NUS Business School; Mr Lim Kin Choo, Vice President (Finance), NUS Office of Financial Services; and Prof Chia Kee Seng of the NUS Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health. 

NUS President Prof Tan Eng Chye; Prof Phoon Kok Kwang, Vice Provost (Academic Personnel); and Prof Andrew Wee, Vice President (University and Global Relations), Dr Susan Ang from the Dept of English Language and Literature were among those honoured with the Long Service Medal. Mr R Rajaram, Senior Director, NUS Office of Admissions was presented with the Public Service Medal for his contributions as Chairman of the Tamil Language Council.