NUS appoints three new members to its Board of Trustees

The National University of Singapore (NUS) today announced the appointment of three new members to its Board of Trustees for terms beginning on 1 April 2024. They are Justice Judith Prakash, Senior Judge and a former judge of the Singapore Court of Appeal; Mr Tan Chong Meng, former Group Chief Executive of PSA International; and Mr Ravi Menon, former Managing Director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore. All three are NUS alumni.

As part of board renewal, three non-executive members – Ambassador-at-Large Prof Chan Heng Chee, veteran social worker Dr Sudha Nair, and Allen and Gledhill partner Mr Andrew Lim Ming-Hui – will retire from the Board on 31 March 2024.

Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of the NUS Board, said, “We warmly welcome Judith, Chong Meng and Ravi to our Board. Their breadth and depth of experience will enrich board discussions and bring useful perspectives to guide the growth of the University amid a fast-changing and challenging environment.”

“We will miss Heng Chee, Sudha and Andrew. They have served the Board very well, supporting the University through various challenges and providing guidance on many strategic issues. We are deeply thankful for their service and unwavering commitment to NUS,” Mr Hsieh added.

The NUS Board of Trustees currently has 20 members.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for Education. The Board is made up of eminent leaders from the public sector, academia, business and various professions. The Board works closely with the management and stakeholders of the University to shape its vision, chart major directions, and guide significant initiatives to produce a strong and enduring impact for the University, and for Singapore and beyond.

More information on Justice Judith Prakash, Mr Tan Chong Meng and Mr Ravi Menon can be found in Annexe 1. The full list of Trustees can be found in Annexe 2.