Angelene Chan, Donna See and Ong Chong Tee join NUS Board

The National University of Singapore (NUS) has appointed three new members to its Board of Trustees, namely Ms Angelene Chan, Chairman of DP Architects; Ms Donna See, CEO of Xora Innovation; and Mr Ong Chong Tee, Chairman of the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority. Their appointments will take effect on 1 April 2023.

As part of board renewal, two non-executive members, Mr Peter Ho and Ms Elaine Yew, will retire from the Board on 31 March 2023 after serving for 12 years and 9 years respectively.  Mr Ho is Senior Advisor to the Centre for Strategic Futures and former Head of Civil Service; while Ms Elaine Yew is senior partner at executive recruitment firm Egon Zehnder. Another member, NUS Senior Deputy President & Provost Professor Ho Teck Hua will also step down on the same date, with his appointment as the next president of the Nanyang Technological University.

Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of the NUS Board, said, “We warmly welcome Angelene, Donna and Chong Tee to our Board, and look forward to their support. Their expertise in their respective fields and rich insights will be invaluable in guiding NUS towards fulfilling its vision.”

“We want to express our gratitude to Elaine, Peter and Teck Hua for their many outstanding contributions and dedication to NUS all these years. Elaine has given generously of her expertise and support to the University, especially in matters of key appointments. Peter is  deeply involved with the University, providing astute guidance on many important issues.  Teck Hua has been key to NUS’ strategic push, driving bold and impactful changes on many fronts and raising the bar in hiring. The University has benefitted greatly from them,” Mr Hsieh added.

The NUS Board of Trustees currently has 20 members.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for Education. The Board is made up of eminent leaders from the public sector, academia, business and various professions. The Board works closely with the management and stakeholders of the University to shape its Vision, chart major directions, and guide significant initiatives to produce a strong and enduring impact for the University, and for Singapore and beyond.

More information on Ms Angelene Chan, Ms Donna See and Mr Ong Chong Tee can be found in Annex 1. The full list of Trustees can be found in Annex 2.