NUS appoints two new board members

Two new members have been appointed to the NUS Board of Trustees for terms beginning on 1 April 2021. They are: Dr Sudha Nair, Executive Director, PAVE, and Mr Forrest Li, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of New York-listed global consumer internet company Sea Limited. Dr Nair is also an NUS alumna.

In line with the NUS board renewal policy, two members – Mr Michael Lien and Mr Abdullah Tarmugi – will step down from the Board on 31 March 2021. Mr Lien is the Executive Chairman of Wah Hin & Company Pte Ltd, while Mr Tarmugi is a permanent member of the Presidential Council for Minority Rights and a former Speaker of Parliament.

"We are delighted to welcome Sudha and Forrest to our Board. With their rich experience and expertise, they will bring relevant insights as we continue to shape bold and pioneering initiatives at NUS,” said Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of the NUS Board.

He added, “We also extend our deepest appreciation to Michael and Abdullah for their many contributions to NUS. Both have served us very well and provided wise guidance that helped chart the University’s growth and transformation. We thank them for their dedicated service.”

The NUS Board of Trustees currently has 20 members.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for Education. The Board is made up of eminent leaders from the public sector, academia, business and various professions. The Board works closely with the management and stakeholders of the University to shape its vision, chart major directions, and guide significant initiatives to produce a strong and enduring impact for the University, and for Singapore and beyond.

More information on the new Trustees is found in Annex 1. The full list of Trustees is available in Annex 2.