Lee Ming San joins the NUS Board of Trustees

The National University of Singapore (NUS) today announced the appointment of Mr Lee Ming San, Founder and Managing Director, One North Capital Pte Ltd, to the NUS Board of Trustees with effect from 1 April 2018.


Mr Lee was formerly the Chief Executive Officer of a leading securities and brokerage firm, where he was responsible for the overall management of its regional investment banking, institutional/retail equities, and wealth management businesses. Mr Lee has been a co-opted member of the NUS Investment Committee since 2008 and is a member of the Governing Board of Duke-NUS Medical School.  Mr Lee holds a Master of Arts in Economics from Cambridge University and is an Associate of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Lee Ming San-website.jpg

Mr Lee Ming San will join the NUS Board of Trustees from 1 April 2018.


Professor Olaf Kübler, President Emeritus, ETH Zurich, who has served on the NUS Board of Trustees since the corporatisation of NUS in April 2006, will be stepping down on 31 March 2018. Mr Wong Fong Fui, Chairman & Group Chief Executive Officer, Boustead Singapore Limited, had earlier stepped down from the Board on 2 January 2018.


Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman of the NUS Board, said, "We warmly welcome Ming San to the NUS Board of Trustees, and look forward to his contributions to the University. We extend our deep appreciation to Olaf who has generously shared his vast experience in leading a top European university. Fong Fui has also contributed to foster entrepreneurship development for NUS. The perspectives of both Olaf and Fong Fui have helped shape the strategic directions of the University, and we thank them for sharing their insights over the years.”

The NUS Board of Trustees comprises 21 members appointed by the Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills). The Board is made up of eminent business leaders, academics, entrepreneurs, and professionals from the public service and private sectors. The Board works closely with the management and stakeholders of the University to shape the vision, chart the major directions, and development programmes and initiatives to produce a strong and enduring impact for the University, and for Singapore and beyond.


The full list of Trustees can be found in Annex 1. More information on new Trustee Mr Lee Ming San can be found in Annex 2.