Two NUS faculty members awarded the Asian Young Scientist Fellowship

Dean’s Chair Associate Professor Yao Yao from the Department of Mathematics at NUS Faculty of Science and NUS Presidential Young Professor Assistant Professor Reza Shokri from the Department of Computer Science at NUS School of Computing have been awarded the inaugural Asian Young Scientist Fellowship (AYSF) 2023. The Fellowship recognises early-career scientists with the most creative minds in the scientific community and supports young scientists in Asia to carry out transformative research in the areas of life science, physical science as well as mathematics and computer science.

Assoc Prof Yao’s research focuses on partial differential equations, fluid dynamics and mathematical biology, which is expected to contribute to modern applied analysis and address challenging questions in the fluid mechanics and mathematical biology fields. In recognition of her contributions and to support her areas of exploration, she was presented with the AYSF.

Asst Prof Shokri’s research is in the areas of data privacy and trustworthy machine learning. He was awarded the AYSF for his contributions to algorithmic foundations of data protection and privacy, and to support his exploration in scaling up the privacy protection mechanisms and designing trustworthy and privacy-preserving algorithms for decision-making.

See more here and here.