Prof David Tan receives Oakleaf Award at Trinity College’s 150th anniversary celebrations

IMG_0648_David TanProfessor David Tan (middle) presenting his photographic artwork of the Trinity College Dining Hall to Deputy Warden Scott Charles (far left) on 4 August 2022, with James Allen (right) / Photo credit: Leonie Jongenelis

Professor David Tan from the NUS Faculty of Law received the Oakleaf Award from Trinity College at the University of Melbourne for his services to the arts, law and education. An arts space at Trinity’s new Dorothy building had been named the David Tan Visual Arts Studio, and David is presently visiting Trinity as its Artist-In-Residence. David was a freshman at Trinity College in 1991 where he pursued a double degree in Law and Commerce, and he was Valedictorian in 1994.

Other recipients include James Allen (the youngest person to climb Mount Everest), David Koczkar (CEO of Medibank), Tom King (Olympic gold medalist in sailing), Megha Kapoor (Head of Editorial of Vogue India), and Wu Chun (member of Mandopop band Fahrenheit).

The Oakleaf Award commemorates 150 years of Trinity College by recognising living alumni and supporters who have made a notable contribution to Trinity, the broader community, or both, within Australia or globally. Oakleaf Awardees all demonstrate a high level of achievement in, amongst other areas, the arts, Anglican Church, sport, science, business, or professions that deliver a social good. A committee of 13 members, from across all three College divisions, was tasked with selecting the 150 living alumni and College supporters for an Oakleaf Award.